Hiccups and Snoozes

not blog dead yet!

Posted in fyp, sketches by Rui on May 6, 2011

Hi! I AM BACK DUE TO POPULAR DEMAND! HAHAHA well… actually only a couple of friends asked. so here I am posting some sketches i made for my FYP film. most of what you see here will not be used for the pitch which is next week. OH DEAR. now panic and freak out!

pose drawings for my little girl 4 weeks ago ? or was it 5?

i changed the features a bit, researching on style variations as well

and some more poses

and then, she had a “face lift”.

 I am trying to achieve a look that’s something like a mixture of Brittney Lee’s beautiful layered cut out illustrations ( her blog link is somewhere in the links on the right), a little bit of matisse  and the flat intricate chinese paper cut out.

some stuff that i am still working on. still trying to figure out the right features and the bodies are not complete yet.

Tell me which one you like better and if possible why. All suggestions are welcomed.

and no it’s not going to be a cut out animation even though I love stop motion, ’cause 2D is the religion. LOL

More details in the next post! (No, it will not take eons. next week after all my submissions. I. Promise.)

GOOD NIGHT!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Phuong said, on May 7, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Hohoho..finally someone updated her blog…
    Btw why don’t you include ur character poses for pitching. Select the good ones? I think it ll be great to see the research for character.
    The head studies also nice.
    🙂

    • Rui said, on May 7, 2011 at 3:13 pm

      will post up more detailed progress after our character animation submission (oh shit!) 😀 but ya, i will include all the references/research for the pitching.

  2. lola huete machado said, on May 14, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I like your blog…
    Can I share some of your characters in my blog…..lolahuetemachado.wordpress.com?
    tell me sthing

    • Rui said, on May 15, 2011 at 11:51 am

      wow, i am glad you like my blog.. feel free to share my characters, if you like them 😀


Leave a Reply

